When Mother Nature Doesn’t Cooperate

Rain, rain go away!!

Last week started off so amazingly.  On Monday I did my “fun” workout and this time, I selected swimming laps.  I love swimming, even did it competitively in my youth.  Did a nice variety of different strokes including, Freestyle, Backstroke, Breaststroke and even Butterfly. 

On Tuesday I hydrated like crazy, ate a fantastically good dinner with just enough protein, carbs and veggies and couldn’t wait for my longest mid-week run to date, seven miles.  Then…the rains came.  Having lived in Florida off and on for over 15 years, I know a little about the weather.  I knew enough to wait it out and the storms would stop.  Keeping a watchful eye on the weather radar, when I saw my chance I (literally) ran out the door.  

Oh. My. God.  Those miles were simply awesome.  I felt strong, I felt fast, I was completely in control of my run.  I felt like anything was possible.  The miles simply ticked by one after the other and before I knew it I was on mile five.  Just two more to go. 

Aerial view of Tampa, FL..note the complete lack of elevation of any kind...

Aerial view of Tampa, FL..note the complete lack of elevation of any kind…

One thing about Florida…it is flat.  There are no hills, no mountains, so I was able to keep a watchful eye on the sky throughout my run.  The problem with this is things often seem close when they are far…and some times…like Tuesday night…seem far when they are, in fact, super close.  

I heard the thunder…I saw the lightening.  I just didn’t think it would hit as fast as it did.  Around mile five and a half the skies opened and the rain plummeted to earth.  I hid under a neighbors front porch for a good 10 minutes then when the rain let up, tried to make a break for it.  No use.  The skies opened again and the deluge began again in earnest.  

You may recall I have written many times about how I love a good run in the rain.  Still do.  However this type of rain had thunder and lightening with it and was coming down so fast I literally couldn’t see.  I hid under another neighbor’s porch, this one had cameras (hi neighbor!!) and sullenly came to the realization that my amazing run was going to end prematurely.  My husband was already asleep (he goes into work at 2am) so I called my dad who came to pick me up.  As I sloshed into my house I still felt good about my run.  I mean, if the lightening of a good run can happen once, it can strike twice, right?  

Enjoy the Run!

Yvonne

Leave a Reply

