THE “W” WORD (PART 1)

After beating myself up for walking just a bit during a particularly hot long run, I saw this post. Completely redefined my relationship with walking during my runs. I still strive to not walk, but I will no longer get frustrated when I do. Heck I may even end up with a better pace time in the long run!

Tripping The Kenyans

Walk or don't walk? Walk or don’t walk?

When did walking become such a bad thing?

I recently read a post from an acquaintance boasting about how they finally completed an entire half marathon without walking a single step.

I was about to send them a congratulatory note on their race… then I continued reading their post.

They went on to say that they ran the entire race much slower than they’d wanted and even had difficulty finishing. Their time was one of their worst ever (and this person is all about their finisher’s time), yet they acted like the race was an unmitigated success… simply because they didn’t walk.

If their driving force is to get as fast a time as possible, why is that point ignored in the wake of “successfully” not walking?

Ummm, congrats? I guess.

View original post 844 more words

5 comments

Leave a Reply

