But when you’re born to run…

Good Afternoon Fellow New Runners!

Whew, it has been far too long since a post, wouldn’t you agree?  My apologies, I have been going through a few medical issues which slowed me down and brought my running to a minimum.

I have been running sporadically; a few weeks ago I completed my first ever virtual race!  It was a 10K through the website Will Run For Bling (which is one of the reasons why I love to race.  I’m not a jewelry girl, but race medals…I love those puppies!)  This race was “We Stand With Boston,” a virtual run to get as many runners out and running strong with those amazing athletes who ran the Boston Marathon.  I will go into the run more on a later post (complete with pictures of my all important medal!)

However, that 10K was really the most I’ve run in a few weeks.  I was tired, I was sad, I frustrated.  All the reasons why I should run, but I couldn’t.  So today, I got up, got my daughter ready (getting a 2 year old out the door is a blog post in and of itself) and said “I don’t care how far or how fast I go, I am just GOING.”

At first I just walked.  It was a gorgeous morning and my daughter was in a fantastic mood.  After about a half mile, I decided I had to at least try to run.  Soon, the familiar repetition of my steps and the melodic sound of my breathing brought a huge smile to my face.  It felt so good to be back.  I knew the run wouldn’t be far (only a mile) and I would be slower than usual (I was also pushing the stroller) but it was a start.

This run reminded me of one of my favorite songs of all time,  “Back in the High Life” by Steve Winwood.  I am clearly dating myself with this one, but for all those too young to know this song, if ever you need a feel good, pick me up song, this is it.  It is a song that reminds us that bad times don’t last forever and you will once again be “back in the high life.”  The first verse has a line that all runners can relate to “when you are born to run, it’s so hard to just slow down.”

Boy isn’t that the truth for us runners?  Whether it is a 14 minute mile or a seven minute mile, it is hard for any of us to not run if we can.  Simply walking wasn’t enough for me, I had to run, to remember how great it feels and how lucky I am that I get to run.  That is what running did for me today.  For one mile my problems were gone.  I was one of the lucky ones who got to run, who had a smile on my face while feeling those endorphins course through my blood.  I hope you were all one of the lucky ones today who got to run, even if it was just for a little bit.

Enjoy the Run!

Yvonne

One comment

  1. Excellent post. You are so right – the bad time do not last forever and every challenge makes one stronger. The power of a positive attitude and “pushing through” difficulties is amazing. Congrats and keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

