Why Every Runner Should Do Yoga!

Good Afternoon Fellow New Runners!

Today is day 2 of my week long break from running and I’m already itching to get back into my running shoes.  To say this time off is going to be difficult for me is an understatement.  It could also be that as a mom of a two and a half year old dealing with tantrums and potty training breakdowns, running has been my source of stress relief and “me” time.  Without running this week, I fear how I will look and act by Sunday.  I needed to find an activity that would help me deal with the stressors in my life as well as something that would exercise my aching muscles and joints (the reason I took my break in the first place).

Enter my workout of the day.  Yoga!  I have done yoga for quite some time now and I really love it.  The peacefulness of the practice is something that appealed to me right away.  As a runner the stretching is simply awesome.  I know of no runner who will admit that they stretch enough before and after every run.  Yoga forces us to take an hour to deeply stretch so many of those overworked and under appreciated muscles!

I joined the amazing ladies at Trinity Yoga Studio in New Port Richey, FL this morning for a gentle yoga class.  We did lots of hip and leg stretches.  It was absolutely perfect for a runner!  The class had a great pace, not too fast for a newbie but not too slow for an experienced yogi.  We did lots of breathing exercises, leg and hip stretches, balance postures and of course, my favorite “final relaxation” (where I almost fell asleep).  I walked out of class refreshed, happy and with a positive outlook for the day!  This was one of my first ever day time classes, usually my yoga classes are at night (after work) and I can tell you it is a bit more difficult because I was so relaxed I wanted to come home and take a nap!  That is a great yoga class!

I cannot recommend yoga enough for runners or really anyone who regularly works out.  It is an amazing thing to do for your body and your mind.  If you are struggling with stress, incorporating the breathing yoga teaches into your daily routine will help you manage that stress, even when you aren’t in class.  If you are ever in the New Port Richey area I cannot recommend Trinity Yoga more.  They are phenomenal!

Enjoy the Run (and the Yoga…OM…)

Yvonne

Leave a Reply

