My break from running

Good Afternoon Fellow New Runners!

I knew this post was coming.  I was trying to hold off for as long as I could.  You see the running weather in Florida is absolutely gorgeous right now.  In a few months it will be 78 degrees and 95% humidity….at 6:30 in the morning.  Alas, with every run last week my legs got heavier, my knee hurt more and my hip went from a dull ache to sharp pains.  I knew what I needed to do.

I am taking a break from running.  Cue the sad, dramatic music.

However, my hiatus is (hopefully) just a week long.  I am going to cut myself a bit of a break, catch up on some sleep, finally get a massage.  Give my body a bit of a pampering.  I plan on doing something physical every day it is time to try new workouts and reacquaint myself with some old workouts that I’ve abandoned in favor of my runs.  I will post every day about my workouts, in case you want to try something new or if you find yourself needing a break from running as well.

Oh, hello old friend!

Today I caught up with my oldest and dearest gym partner, the elliptical.  It was like having coffee with an old friend.  It was a fun and familiar workout that was as similar to running as I could get (without actually running).  Happily, neither my knee nor hip hurt and my legs felt great.  Interestingly I noticed something.  The elliptical used to completely drain me, I would need a break at times during my 30 minute workout.  Today, I. Rocked. It.  A full three levels higher than I used to do and after 30 minutes I felt like I could go for longer.  The running workouts are absolutely improving my cardiovascular strength and endurance.

When my workout was over, I thought “I need to do this more often!”  It is true, we runners tend to grow blinders, only focusing on running faster and adding miles.  However changing up the workouts and including other forms of cardiovascular exercise will not only help those runs, but will also give your body a break and your mind something new to focus on.

Enjoy the Run! (or elliptical)

Yvonne

Leave a Reply

