Wait..what’s my weight?

Good Afternoon Fellow New Runners!

Image

Today’s fitness blog challenge is all about that dreaded contraption…the scale.  The question posed today is how much do I weigh myself.  If this question was asked a few years ago, I am certain my answer would have been “daily”.  However as I have gotten older, I find myself turning to the scale less and less.  Sure I still weigh myself and foolishly take off my shoes and explain to the nurse how heavy my clothes are when I am at the doctors office, but the scale is no longer how I measure my fitness level.

I tend to focus more on how I feel, how my clothes are fitting and how much energy I have vs. my weight on the scale.  Sometimes I will go months without stepping on a scale.  When I do weigh myself it is generally to only confirm what I already knew, either I am losing weight or gaining it.

I think the focus off of the scale comes not only from age and being comfortable in your own skin, but also in knowing more about nutrition.  For most people weight loss is simple, take in less calories than you expend.  I know that the pasta dish brimming with melted cheese and the chocolate explosion dessert I am eating are most likely going to cause me to gain weight  I also know that if I have wine 6 out of 7 nights, that is not helping either.  Conversely, if I am exercising, watching my food intake and trying to eat more fruits and veggies, chances are after a few weeks my clothes are going to be looser.

So stop checking the darn scale!  Do an internal check every so often to see how you feel, how your body feels and use that as your guide.  Check the scale only a few times a month, and not only after eating a big meal!  Your body will thank you, your family will thank you and your mind will thank you!

Enjoy the Run!

Yvonne

2 comments

  1. Yvonne- I am loving your blog. It’s a great collection of your stories and thoughts- good for everyone! These thoughts on the scale are great. I used to think I needed to weigh everyday but all that does it create an unhealthy mindset! Love being about to keep up with all your ventures. Thanks

Leave a Reply

