Today, I became a runner

Good Afternoon Fellow New Runners!

Image

This week was a busy week.  Three weekly runs, lots of errand running and 2 days spent at that most magical of all places, Disney World.  We got back from Disney last night and I was simply exhausted.  My entire body ached and all I wanted to do was to go to bed…at 6pm.  However, I dutifully laid out my running clothes, got my Gu ready and had the Garmin ready to go for my Saturday long run.  I haven’t missed a Saturday run in over three months.  Until today.

My alarm never went off so when I woke up it was 6:15.  I kept thinking “get up, lets go run” but I just didn’t have it.  For once my body won out and my legs didn’t get out of bed until I heard my daughter at 7am.  I played with my munchkin and chatted with my husband over coffee.  It was a perfect morning.  Except all I could think about was the run I wasn’t taking.  I kept looking at the clock, trying to calculate what mile I would have been on.  I couldn’t think of anything else.  I felt sad.  

Ever since I started running, I always felt like an outsider.  At the running store I felt like a running impostor, as if one of the employees would look at me and say “you aren’t a real runner”.  All the other runners I would see, those who ran faster, slower, more miles or less, they were all the real runners.  Not me.  

However, by missing my run this morning I now know I AM a runner.  It is something that fuels my body and feeds my soul.  My miles, my pace don’t matter, the fact is running is something I now love to do.  Running is something I need to do.  So today, was one of the greatest running days I’ve ever had.  It was the day I became a runner.

Enjoy the Run!

Yvonne

Question: Did you have a moment when you “became” a runner?

7 comments

  1. “Becoming a runner” is so much more mental, but I think I had a similar moment when I realized that by missing a run and really missing it – I was a runner.

Leave a Reply

