Runner’s Heart

Good Morning Fellow New Runners!

Image

A friend recently wrote “I think I’m finally starting to like running!”  Which was odd for me to read because she’s been running for over a year, has done 10K’s, halfs and is training for the NYC marathon.  My first thought was “why would you do it if you don’t like it?”  

Then I realized there are so many times I am in the same situation.  When I have a bad run and I am wheezing and frustrated at myself that I can’t get up the stamina to do another sprint.   When I am in mile 7 of my planned 10 miler and my ankles are hurting and my lungs are tired.  When my alarm clock goes off at 6am and it is 30 degrees stupid outside.

So why on earth do we continue to do this?  Why do we continue to get out of bed at zero dark thirty to get our runs in before work? Surely there are other hobbies that take less dedication?  That don’t require us to get out of bed so early, that don’t leave our poor muscles aching and tired?  There must be other hobbies that are less expensive?  (Have you seen the price of running shoes these days?)

We all run for a myriad of reasons, I am sure everyone has their own.  In fact once I saw my friends post I thought “why the heck do I run?”  And you know, I kinda had myself stumped.  Then I realized that for me, running is something that I control.  I can’t control my 2 year old’s temper tantrums (the checkout line at the supermarket is my absolute favorite!), I can’t control the job market or the weather, but I can control how far I go on my runs.  I can control how fast my legs pump, how far they can take me.  

It is the one piece of life that my heart leads.  Sure my head tries to talk to me, but my heart takes the lead.  My heart says “she can do it”, even when my head, my legs, my lungs aren’t so sure.  When I am ready to give up, my heart reminds me of how far I’ve come.  When I don’t want to get out of bed in the morning, it is my heart that reminds me of my goals.

All those early mornings of training teach you to listen to your heart more than your head.  If you listen to your head, running 26.2 miles really makes no sense.  However, when you listen to your heart…maybe a marathon isn’t such a silly idea.  When I was just starting my running journey, the Disney Princess Half Marathon registration for 2014 was open.  My head said “are you crazy?  You can’t even run 3 miles and you want to do 13.1?  No way!”, but my heart knew.  My heart thought “that looks cool, let’s do it!”  Sure enough, my heart continues leading my running journey and now my head and the rest of my body know what my heart knew months ago.  I can do it.  In 2015, I WILL do it.  

Enjoy the Run!

Yvonne

Question: Why do you run?  If you don’t run, what is your favorite hobby?

P.S. Just want to be clear on this.  I run with my heart, but I also listen to my body.  I don’t run when I am hurt and if I am in pain, I stop.  

Leave a Reply

