New Years Day Run-Even Bad Runs are Good

Good Morning Fellow New Runners!

I realize this is a bit late, but I felt I had to share my first ever New Years Day run with you.  As a new runner I thought running would be a fantastic way to kick off the new year!  So on New Years Day I got up at 6am,  got my gear,  and out the door I went!  How far to go…6?  10?  12??  The optimism was flowing out of me!

However as soon as I started running my first thought was “maybe this wasn’t a good idea”.  After doing intervals the day before, my legs were already aching.  It was cold.  I was tired.  My first mile my pace was awfully slow…actually it never really got faster.  As I was running lumbering along, I thought “what a terrible way to start the new year.  Maybe the running Gods are trying to tell me something”.  In fact, I am sure they were.  After coming home from my 6 miler, I had a new perspective:

1. New Years day 2013 I didn’t run, and if I tried I couldn’t run a full mile.  I ran SIX this year.  Holy accomplishment batman!!

2. I am still new.  While six miles for many of my running friends would be easy and simple, for me it is still a struggle.  This is not bad!  It just reminds me to keep working to improve!

3. One of my goals for 2014 is to sign up for the Glass Slipper Challenge (run the Enchanted 10k on Saturday and the Disney Princess Half Marathon on Sunday) in February 2015.  Clearly if this is a goal I want to reach running on back to back days is something I need to do more.  I am very glad I found this out NOW, so I can train properly.

Even bad runs teach us something; Whether it is to appreciate the good ones, areas we need to improve or to humbly remind us of where our fitness level is right now, appreciate the bad runs!  You are still doing more than you could do a year ago!  Keep going!  Imagine where you will be New Years Day 2015!!

Image

Enjoy the run!

Yvonne

4 comments

Leave a Reply

